Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am new to the Luger forums and am relatively new to any of the forums. I was very impressed with the quality of discussion that I saw on this forum and decided to see if I could narrow down exactly what I have. Several years ago, I bought a “better than average” Luger from a friend who was disposing of his rather extensive collection. He sold the gun to me as a “1906 Navy Commercial” but has since said that it was not a “Commercial”. I have been a Colt collector, basically Woodsman’s, but know practically nothing about Luger’s. At present, I don’t have the ability to post pictures and will therefore try to describe my Luger as best as I can.
Barrel: 6” barrel. On the under side; Crown/B on the left, Crown/G on the right and Crown/J (possibly ”U”?) below them, “118,35” below that and S/N right next to slide. Indexing marks on barrel/slide. Barrel shows good rifling but some pitting.
Slide: Barrel end, left side, Crown/B and a Crown/U under that, “52” on lug under frame.
Toggle: Barrel end link: left side, Crown/B, and “52”; Middle link: top, “DWM”; left side, “Crown/U”; and underneath, “52”, “N” in a “V”, and a very light “5”; Rear link; Navy style rear sight w/100 & 200 m marks, ”52” under sight.
Frame: S/n 47252 on front under barrel. “52” on trigger lug. “52” on takedown lever, “52” on side plate, “52” under left stock. Lots of old cosmoline in the main spring cavity.
Magazine: Walnut bottom lug with “Cal 9m/m” and “47252”.
Safety: Unaltered - “Safe-Up” “Gesichert”
Condition: One very small “ding” on right of barrel, small scratch on side plate and approx. 96% - 98% of bluing remaining. Very nice gun!
I have “The Luger Book” by John Walter, but find it quite difficult. Any suggestions for a better book would be appreciated.
What do I have? Approx. value? I would appreciate any help. Thanks! Regards, Steelsmith

·
Administrator
15,547 Posts