Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I find Imperial Lugers fascinating, and while I'm no expert in this area, I hope you enjoy this overview of one of my pieces.

Given the magnitude of the conflict during the first World War, the Luger under went a number of significant and substantial changes even after it was accepted as the "P.08" by the military. Some of these changes included the addition of the "lug" (machined into the frame ), the addition of the "hold-open" (which was dropped in the original Military contract - my thanks to Mr. Wood for clarifying this) and in 1916, as in this specimen, the inclusion of the relieved sear bar. For this update specifically, it allowed the Luger's toggle to be cycled by hand, while the safety was engaged. Previous to this specific modification (transition year - 1916), the safety bar, as it was held against the sear bar, would prevent the toggle/action from being cycled while engaged.

I would like to take a minute to credit Mr. Jan Still excellent published works (Imperial Lugers), and other research/text/pictures contained in text offered by Mr. Datig, Mr. Kenyon and Mr. Jones as being the source for much of the information presented in this review.

Speciman: 1916 DWM Military - Serial Number: 2225i

Overall condition 85%+ Blue with 10% straw. No apparent rust, one slight pitting area 2mm x 2mm on left/top barrel. Bore - excellent. Original finish.

According to Mr. Still (PP13 Imperial Lugers), approximately 140,000 DWM Lugers were produced during 1916. Most saw hard use during the next years, and this specimen was obviously a field piece. Not Unit Marked - it is a representative example of military production during wartime years. To note, most Military Marked Lugers (especially Erfurt manufactured) are some of the most richly proofed/stamped Lugers known to exist.

Showing the overall grey/blue finish, this specimen is typical of the DWM Wartime production.