Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what suffix did mauser start with on there 1940 lugers and which one did they end it with. and which is more collectible a 1940 or 1942.luger if in same condition. and when did they switch from high polish to military blue on ther lugers. thanks i have a chance to buy a 1940 all matching except mag 95% 1050.00 or a 1942 95%+ with a holster for 1500 firm.

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
Hello Bigron you must absolutely buy the "Still" books
In 1940 start from 7700z to 7000n so about 135.700 item
In 1942 from 500ns to 2197n with 149m to 5322m for Portugal and 5323m to 2197n for Bulgaria so about 113.000 product
All years without j sufix
But price depends all matching reblued and int. bore : the great :you buy the both
Cheers Pat

G

·
hello bigron; i'm new at this also; my research has turned up info on the richer looking "saphire" blue [rust blue?]stopped in the middle 1937 year s/42 on the last of the "strawed " lugers; later the 1937 mid year and up were a " salt blue" less labor/ time to blue! as i have a 1936 and a 1938 i can definately see the diff;
i hope this reply brings out the old "salts" in this field and they can straighten us both out!!
want to go shootin;?
thanks and best jim

·
Copper Bullet Member
977 Posts
The 1937 Luger started with serial number around 5000p. They were rust blue with strawed small parts. The all hot dipped blued 1937 pistols started in the early T-Block and continued for the rest of the German Military Mausers.

·
Copper Bullet Member
977 Posts
Hello Bigiron! Both pistols sound nice and the prices are about right, the byf 42 a little high. The byf 42 E-Block was completed in about April/May time frame, the L-Block in October.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·