Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI,
I am new to Luger collecting. I purchased Jan's book, Axis Pistols, which is excellent. I have a large model of the Bismarck. I am collecting Kriegsmarine militaria and firearms of the period that the Bismarck existed. I am looking for a representative example of an unmarked Luger for my collection. As I understand it the Kriegsmarine utilized un-marked Lugers starting in late 1940.
1. Were these unmarked Lugers of this time frame typically marked like standard Army issues? Did they have the same acceptance stamps as Army issues?
2. What serial blocks would represent a Luger manufactured between Jan 1 1941 and May 1 1941?
I am bothered by the fact that many Kriegs Lugers of earlier manufacture have been faked. Since I am not an expert and don't want to get stung I have decided to buy a Luger that fits the period of the Bismarck but is not Kriegsmarine. Thanks much for your help in advance.

·
Registered
542 Posts
Hi Paul,
* Welcome to the Forum. Ref. your questions above:
(1) Yes, those byf'41 P.08's which went to the Navy were marked like a standard Army issue. No way to tell them apart unless some other artifact (holster??) or documentation accompanies an example and can be verified. Same acceptance stamps on each.