Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a relative Luger newbie, although not new to the general era. I'm looking for additional insights into this pistol.

By all appearances, two military pistols were mated to make a new one. The frame 7555 g, the barrel, and some small parts, like safety and take-down lever, match. They were fitted with the receiver, sideplate, and toggle assembly from a second pistol. This was a 1917 DWM whose serial also ended with a 5 because in the forced-matching the last digit seems to have been left alone.

Both guns involved have Weimar police credentials. The receiver has the 1920 stamp, and thanks to Don Maus, I know that the double frontstrap marking places the frame in the service of the Schutzpolizei Berlin throughout the Weimar period.

The gun is modified for the sear safety, although the safety is gone. It was not cut for the magazine safety. The magazine is correct, but non-matching, which is to be expected.

There are no re-work stamps, arsenal stamps, or any other markings.

Any clues when this gun was put together? Post-WW I, before joining Berlin police? Later? Opinions appreciated

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,575 Posts
it is a nice looking piece with a lot of history. enjoy it...Bill

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
One more photo:

On top of the barrel is a mark which I took for damage until it occurred to me to use a magnifying glass. Could this be a stamping of some kind? Maybe partially struck? Seems too elaborate for just a ding.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,509 Posts
Although I can't present any substantial proof to my theory, it looks like it was matted while in service with the Polizei or other Weimar/Third Reich military branch.
The patina is even all around and the effort to force match all the small parts of one of its halves give some credibility to theory that it is an armory rebuilt.