Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a brand new member, as you can see, and I've joined primarily because I found a great wealth of information here that can be very helpful with the Mauser C96. I try to do my homework in advance before pestering people with questions that may have been asked to death, particularly when they're questions that seem so obvious that they must have been covered. These are the two for which I cannot find definitive answers, in spite of being so basic: First, do all or most C96's come with the backstrap milled for shoulder stock, or is it only specific models? Second, does anyone know specifically what wood was used to make the stocks? The only genuine example I've ever held in my hands did not appear to be walnut, but I'm not a wood expert and I had no way to identify it.

·
Registered
3,151 Posts
I have several late war stocks made from Beech wood. All the early stocks I see are made from walnut. I have oak stocks also.
Tim H.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I'm a brand new member, as you can see, and I've joined primarily because I found a great wealth of information here that can be very helpful with the Mauser C96. I try to do my homework in advance before pestering people with questions that may have been asked to death, particularly when they're questions that seem so obvious that they must have been covered. These are the two for which I cannot find definitive answers, in spite of being so basic: First, do all or most C96's come with the backstrap milled for shoulder stock, or is it only specific models? Second, does anyone know specifically what wood was used to make the stocks? The only genuine example I've ever held in my hands did not appear to be walnut, but I'm not a wood expert and I had no way to identify it.
Did you just buy or are you considering? Happy to share thoughts as a recently-new owner of one.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 · (Edited)