Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I studied this Cole Dist. pistol the other day. The S.St. are followed by what appears to be I.7.119. ... very difficult to read since they have been X'ed out. After the X'ed out area is 700.

All numbers match. The top of the receiver is scrubbed smooth. Pistol has a very black/gray finish. Grips are black plastic with long striations such as on a Ballester-Molina.

Buttstock lug is present. There are no WaAmpt. Only markings are:

Left side of receiver...Crown over N. Fraktur G with a heavy bar overhead.

Right side: nothing

Underside of barrel: droop wing bird over SN over G (heavy bar may be a very short crown).

Any insight greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
6,194 Posts
Hi Mark,
You have what sounds like a Russian reworked Police Luger. The striated grips are Russian.
The Prussian police grip marking is as follows:

S= Scutzpolizei(Municipal Police)
St.= Stettin (name of city)
I = 1st Centuria (Unit or District)
7 = Sector within the Centuria (precinct)
119 = Weapon number

The 700 is possibly a Russian marking. Not sure, but I don't believe it has anything to do with the German police marking. Is the pistol import marked?

Ron

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Pistol is import marked by Coles Distributing. Unlike a previous Russian capture P08, there are no crossed rifles type capture mark.

Was the top of the receiver scrubbed or was this plain from the outset? Any idea as to the year of manufacture?

Thanks in advance. I appreciate all of the info so far.

·
Registered
6,194 Posts
Mark, Without photos, it's hard to say. It could be a "sneak", produced without the year of manufacture.
Do you have a Luger with crossed rifles on the chamber? Most Russian captures have an X stamped on them, but not distinct crossed rifles.
Ron

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Dear Ron,