Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all; i have a few lugers and other pistols that i believe are unfired. i realize that virtualy every gun that has left any factory has been fired for function. i would assume that after that firing that the barrel would have been scrupiousley cleaned.does anyone know if there is there any test available to us to establish for certain if a gun has been previously fired? i know that law enforcement has very sophisticated forensic mmethods of determining stuff like this, is there anything available to us?? --john--

·
Registered
3,480 Posts
John,

I am not an expert at forensics but I believe after a gun is cleaned you can't tell if it has been recently fired.

I have a few P.38s in my collection that look unfired but I think that any military firearm that is 60 to 90 years old has been fired at least once by a previous owner.

Mark

·
Administrator
15,553 Posts
I agree with Mark, I actually (inwardly) roll my eyes when a collector says that his gun is unfired. I mean, not to be rude, but this gun has NEVER been fired??? How the hell does that happen? Even the commanders gun would be taken out by him and fired on occassion, heck their life might depend on it.

I think it much more likely that it has been fired very little, but unfired seems unlikely with any gun that was issued...

Ed

G

·
The phrase that really pushes MINT to the limit is "MINT FOR IT'S AGE". A collector friend of mine has a favorite expression for pistols that are described as MINT, but turns out to be something less, "MEANT FOR SOMEONE ELSE".

·
Moderator / Gold Bullet Member
11,331 Posts