Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have wanted to purchase a real Black Widow rig. I am a novice and feared at the prices they are going for that I would buy one from Simpson Ltd. I purchased a Norwegian Capture with no import stamp on it. It is all matching. It has two issues. First, the Norwegians hot dipped it per Simpson. Second, the original German Z suffix had four small lines stamped over it and an L was stamped next to it. Mr. Simpson provided a letter describing the gun. But, in it, he stated that he was unable to verify if the new suffix was stamped by the Norwegians or not? Could that have been done by the Germans or a Norwegian military formation under German control during the war? The gun is in excellent condition with a mint bore. He stated that the bakelite grips and black bottomed FXO WaA37 Black Bottomed magazine are original to the gun. I paid $1,495.00 plus 35.00 S/H.

I then went about completing the rig. I purchased a mint FXO WaA37 Black Bottomed magazine for 250.00 plus 10.00 S/H. I purchased a JVF 1941 WaA204 W. Brand Heidelberg Luger Holster with the Norwegian Web Belt alteration for $99.99 plus $7.99 S/H. I purchased an Eagle/655 mint original tool for $81.00 plus $6.00 S/H. I then purchased a wooden/lined presentation case for $90.00 plus 19.00 S/H. To top it off I purchased an
SS Norwegian sleeve shield for 12.95 plus $1.75 S/H. My FFL dealer charged me $55.00 for the transfer. He owns over 130 Lugers and thought that Simpson Ltd. was fair with me. The bottom line is that for 2,108.68 I now own a Norwegian Capture BYF41 Black Widow rig that is an almost mint 97%, came with a letter from Robert Simpson that verified it is an original Black Widow not a fake, and can be traced to the occupation of Norway as well as a long postwar service record since 1945.