Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
516 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I was wondering about the hold open change and when how it was implemented on the Commercial 1908 pistols. I have two, separated by a few hundred serials, one with the hold open the other not. Might it have been that the one was sold and the owner didn't bother to get it changed while the other still had not been sold so was rounded up and reworked.
Thoughts?

·
Premium Member
2,120 Posts
I'm no expert on which pistols were subject to the hold open retrofit, although it appears to have been sometime in 1913, but I would doubt it commercial pistols were "rounded up" to have it added. Perhaps your pistols just bracket the date of the hold open being made standard once again?

·
Super Moderator
3,927 Posts
The holdopen was part of the original design an not an afterthought.

So commercial Parabellum pistols would have had the holdopen, even when the military P08 had not.

The german army initially had the hold open deleted to save money.

·
Registered
591 Posts
The holdopen was part of the original design an not an afterthought.

So commercial Parabellum pistols would have had the holdopen, even when the military P08 had not.

The german army initially had the hold open deleted to save money.
commercial lugers before 1913 also were produced without the hold open.

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
The original patent by Georg Luger for the hold open is dated 6 May, 1900. The design was later improved and patented on 7 November, 1907. According to Gortz & Sturgess, page 1088, all Lugers fitted with the hold open after 7 November, 1907, had the new design. However, their wording suggests that not all commercial Lugers were made with the hold open.

·
Registered
3,254 Posts
In all of the commercial Database reports of the commercial 08C (no stock lug P08) there are:

146 entries which report the absence of original holdopen. These include:
46 direct reports;