Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a photo on eBay of a Paris Traffic Policeman directing traffic in front of one of the typical German wartime signposts, probably in the Place de la Concorde. Can anyone identify the holster, and therefore the pistol carried? It looks like a post war Browning pistol holster, sort of, but I know that cannot be correct. I close upped the holster in the below photos.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
440 Posts
The policeman's holster looks to me like this 1935-S holster, below, which Medlin and Doane identify as post-war (although your's has an extra metal-bit under the fastener loop)
........... but, German street signs certainly would not have been on display after the liberation !

Attachments

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm not an expert, but it looks like a FN 1900 holster ?
I think you are correct, I looked up a photo of one and it looks nearly the same, except this holster is black. I would guess maybe the French dyed or had their holsters made black. The impression on the flap is consistent with the double mag pouch under the flap of the Browning 1900 holster. Maybe Anthony would know more about whether the French police used the Browning 1900 as general issue.

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I did some research from Anthony's FN book and it appears the French police bought quantities of FN1910's for the police, both prior to and following WW2, and some are even Paris police marked. I would venture a guess the holster pictured probably is carrying a 1910. It also is cut more like the 1910 holster, however the metal strap retainer and plate differ from the pics in the FN book, both for the 1900 and 1910 holster, but maybe it's a variation. I would guess it's French produced, but then maybe not.

·
Registered
2,799 Posts