Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello
I've read in several articles in gun magazines that, at the end of first world war, some LP 08 were send to imperial navy, especially in the U-boats and torpedo boats. Is it a tale or is there some truth?

Thank you to everybody for their patience and their understanding, I'm just a beginner in luger collection...

·
Premium Member
1,768 Posts
If they did manage to insert LP08's into the Navy prior to war's end then they must be unmarked as I am not aware of any Imperial marked LP08's.

·
Registered
413 Posts
quote:Originally posted by huggiebear

If they did manage to insert LP08's into the Navy prior to war's end then they must be unmarked as I am not aware of any Imperial marked LP08's.
A point of clairification, please. I understand you to mean that you are not aware of any Imperial Navy marked LPO8s?

Thanks

·
Platinum Bullet member
6,534 Posts
franck, after the Armistice, during the Weimar period, quite a number of LP08s were given to the German navy but not to U boats as they were forbidden by the Versailles Treaty. What the Nazis did is a different matter as they fully rearmed and began building a U boat fleet. Like John, I have never seen an Imperial Navy marked LP08.

·
Registered
734 Posts
The presence of 8 inch 9mm P08 in service of Weimar Navy is an obvious breach of the Versailles treaty. Yet these are not uncommon and even bear the 1920 acceptance mark. Does anyone know of any document that allowed the use of these forbidden barrels ( original LP08s) in Navy service? Certainly there were other exceptions to the 9mm/4inch rule i.e. an occasional uncut red nine broomhandle even with 1920 acceptance mark(poor inspections?), but the Weimar navy LP08s seem to be an especially blatant example of this practice.
John

·
Registered
2,579 Posts
franck