Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

First, I want to state that I have been observing this sight for a few weeks. It amazes me the amount of knowledge that is contributed by participants. Thank you for letting me observe and now participate.

I truly hope to become an active participant as I gain more knowledge. I am a US Marine Vet ('66-'70) and have been a Professional Guide for over 30 years. I have some knowledge of weapon systems but I am sure I am a novice when it comes to people in this forum.

I have just inherited (unfortunately) my Father’s Extensive gun collection and enormous Military memorabilia collection, both collections’ cover from Civil War thru WWII. I have seen this collection grow over my lifetime and again unfortunately have not kept up to date on all the different items. I have a long education ahead of me and I would appreciate any direction or leads to find needed info

My question at this time involves a Model 116 Mark IV, S# A290536. It looks like an early M16 but is a .22LR. It was imported by Kassnar and made in the Philippines. I have learned that Kassnar is no longer due to Bankruptcy. I found they might have now become KBI Inc. Too, I tracked down Armscor of the Philippines and it seems like they may be the producer of the weapon. They have a Model 1600R that looks very similar to the weapon I have.

Does anyone know anything about this weapon M116 or can lead me to info on it. Is it a conversion of the M16? Is it apiece of junk? Would it make a good first for my Teenage son? I appreciate any info or direction possible.

Too, I promise not ask value questions and I will try and do extensive research before I ask any elementary questions.

Thanks!

·
Registered
833 Posts
John,