Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought my first Luger. I have been collecting guns for 17 years, and always wanted one, but never bought one until now. Forgive me if I don't use the correct terms in my description. I don't have a digital Camera at the moment, but might be able to get one in a few days if anyone "needs" to see a picture. Here we go: It is a DWM, no date that I can see anywhere. The guy I bought it from said it was 1913-1918 era. there is a "07" behind the DWM on the top. Behind the barrel where the date is on others, mine is stamped 7.65 and then stamped over with "XXX". The serial number is 4007 possibly "e" and all numbers match on the barrel, frame and "slide?" (in front of side plate.) The side plate has an "82" midway up. There is a "17" stamped just below the rear sight above the lanyard loop. Under the Safety it reads "Besichert" or maybe "Gesichert" It does have the lug on the back strap for the shoulder stock attachment. It appears on the front strap that there was an inscription of sorts, but it is too worn to read. I would gauge it at about 80-85% bluing and and the wood grips about the same. Did I get hurt at $700?

·
Registered
594 Posts
David -
Welcome to the Forum. We have many experts here (Not I, but others) and I am sure you will get some good answers. I will attempt to give you a brief commentary.

From your description it sounds as if you have a "parts" Luger made up of parts from two or more guns. No date above the chamber would indicate that the gun is not a 1913-1918 era DWM. All DWMs from 1910-1918 have the year stamped in large letters over the top of the chamber. The "17" which appears "just below the rear sight" seems to be the serial number for the rear toggle link. On a matching Luger that number would be "07" to match the serial number "4007."