Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been given a M2 Portuguese Luger by my soon to be mother in law. As I am new to this, can any one estimate its value or worth. In doing some research I have guessed that it's a 1900's model with the safety on the grip. All the numbers are matching and are clearly visible except for the clip. Serial # 1468. I suspect it's not the original as there are no numbers what so ever on the clip. The gun is, in my opinion, very good condition concidering it's over 100 years old. Included are some photos. Can take more if needed. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Scott

Download Attachment: Dscf0017.jpg
121.59KB

Download Attachment: Dscf0018.jpg
120.74KB

Download Attachment: Dscf0019.jpg
118.11KB

Download Attachment: Dscf0020.jpg
120.71KB

Download Attachment: Dscf0017.jpg
121.58KB

·
Administrator
15,561 Posts
Welcome Scott!

I am unsure, if you could take come more pictures, shield the flash a bit, or better yet, take by a window or outside, take pictures of both sides and all around.

Ed

·
Platinum Bullet member
6,233 Posts
Model 1906, Manny the Second.

·
Registered
14,166 Posts
Hi Scott,

Your 1906 M2 Portuguese luger should have several small stampings of a triangle inside of a circle. Usually found along the left side of the receiver (in front of the trigger side plate), on the back of the frame (just above the lanyard staple) and on the underside of the barrel closest to the receiver end.

Author C. Kenyon states this Portuguese contract (dated 1909) ran about 5,000 pistols and I believe the contract ran serial # 1 to the end.

A proper magazine for your Luger would be wooden, stamped with the same small circle/triangle stamping on its wooden bottom. Magazine is usually not numbered with the gun's serial number. These wooden Portuguese magazines show up from time to time at gun shows and on some of the web sites...