Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need some advice from the experts, I am interested in buying a Luger and need to know what to look for for the price range of $500-$1000.
Really would like to buy a Bulgarian P08 but little too pricey for now. Any advice on what I should buy,would really like some input as I dont want to get taken to the cleaners and I would like a P08 that was in WWI or both World Wars.Thank in advance
derek

ADMIN: Derek, I moved your posting to the New Collector forum, since it was not centered towards Imperial. ebt

·
Moderator / Gold Bullet Member
11,110 Posts
Frogman7, While I am not an expert I can tell you that you must give some serious thought to what you want this pistol for. If you are going to shoot it, you will want a different piece than a collector investment pistol.
You will want to stay within your collecting interest. If you want a Bulgarian I highly recommend you get what you want even if the price is a little more than you want to invest. You may get something less , not be as happy and then you will always think you should have gone for what you wanted at first. A P-08 that has been in both wars will be hard to prove actually, not impossible as many were. Many WW1 dated Police fit that catagory and are easily proven to have seen service in both conflicts.
Have you bought any good Luger books such as Jan Stills and looked over the field? I advise you buy several good books and study the subject you are about to invest $500 to $1000 bucks in.
My interest has always been WW1 Imperial as it has quite a history involved.