Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
998 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was enjoying the Cate book on Sauer longarms when I discovered that my M30 was listed in the serial number list. I'm sure I'm not the first (or last) to own it. The book shows a date of 12/41 but I could not find the marking on my gun. I feel somewhat foolish in asking but could someone direct me to the location where I can find it?

Thanks,

G2

·
Registered
25 Posts
Remove your barrel set from the drilliing . Turn it over and look at the area nearest the breech and look at the area that is under the left barrel. This will be on your right when the barrel is in this position. You should see a stamped number; in your case it should be 1242. The 12 indicates the month of the year or Dec. and the 41 indiating the year as 1941. This is the date the gun was proofed . This is what I have been told and have read on this site . I hope others can provide additional information as I am new to the Sauer M30 drilling and do not want to mislead anyone . My M30 is listed in Mr. Cate's book as built in Jan. 1945 or as stamped 145. It is not a Luftwaffe but a commercial model. It is in 12x12x9.3x74r cal.. I hope this helps.

·
Registered
998 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I guess I'm blind. Both barrels have the 12 / 65 above the E/N proof. The 9.3X74R and E/N markings are on the right of the two locking lugs (viewed bottom side up). The LW E/2 marking is on the last lug. I've moved the ejector and there are no markings underneath. Sorry, I just don't see any. Thanks for your help.

G2

·
2,360 Posts
Works for me... I was sent the information I used herein. Still, it is odd there is no Proofhouse date. Haven't seen that before. If you find the date let me know. Thanks, Jim....

·
Registered
25 Posts