Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new collector of axis pistols and I am thinking about purchasing a CYQ P-38 late war "0" series. The pistol has is as close to mint as I have seen (99% original blue, mint mag, mint grips) and appears unissued. I know that price is a relative thing, but I was wondering if you guys could give me a ballpark range of a fair price, as I am a college student and I can't afford to get ripped too badly.

Thanks,
jawright21

· Registered
133 Posts
Hi,

From my experience with P.38's and without knowing more about the piece I would value the gun, 99% and totally correct, at $1200-$1500, low to high. Be very careful that it is not a Russian dipped example and not import marked. I have seen P.38's that were imports but had the import marks removed. Check the insides of the gun and make sure the springs and sear are all in the white. The locking block could be blued but, is so, should be a thin blue and may show signs of grinding after the blue was applied.

The Russians overran the Spreewerk plant and captured many "0" series guns before they were shipped. The imports made these guns more readily available but totally original non-import marked examples are still somewhat hard to find.

Regards, Leon

· Registered
3,508 Posts
Leon is correct as usual!

The key thing for an original pistol is the locking pin, it should not be blued! The import markings can be under the grips, on the barrel or somewhere else.

Some import "dipped" Russian pistols do not have import marks, the grips should be a red color with lots of filler and marked with 1W41 or 1W31 on the inside, see my grip information for Spreewerk. http://www.p38guns.com/Gripinfo.htm

"Dipped" 0 series Spreewerk guns go for about $850.00

Mark

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·