Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this so please bear with me. I see references to "straw". Could someone please explain this term to me so I can better appreciate the info I see. Thanks.
Sabalo

· Registered
550 Posts
Hi Harry,
* Welcome to the forum!
* "Straw" refers to the color steel takes on when lightly "case hardened" by heating to a specific temperature range and allowing the part(s) to air cool (quench). The color appears pale yellow to a golden hue. Hence the term "straw" as most descriptive of the color. The case hardening was primarily done to improve the wear durability of the part's surface & retard rust. It also added an attractive visual relief to the pistol's overall blue.
* The depth of the case hardening was quite shallow and over time abrasion, oxidation & the elements(persperation, rain, leather tanning solution, etc.) caused the hardened surface to oxidize/erode on these parts. The straw color would dissapate leaving an oxidized white surface followed by darkened spots (microscopic rust attenuated by cleaning/oil).
* In general, Military (up until approximately mid 1937) and most all Commercial Lugers had 5 small parts strawed. These 5 were the takedown lever, trigger, mag release button, safety lever, and ejector.
* Knowing the Luger model/dates which were to have strawed parts can help reveal pistols which have been re-blued. Many times rebluers will not duplicate the straw hardening process on the small parts due to time, disassembly, knowledge, etc.