Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the luger game, and I'm stumped with the one I just purchased. It has the commercial banner on the toggle, and from what I've read would be in line with a police luger, but has no eagle over L proof mark just waffenampts. I will appreciate any information!

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
Your Luger has a b suffix letter which is too late to have been part of the police acquired Lugers that were in the y suffix range. It was apparently - going by the inspection & acceptance stamps - pressed into military service.

·
Gold Bullet Member 2012
1,152 Posts
My guess is that you have a 1942 byf that has had it's center toggle link replaced with the Mauser link. The 135 stamps and the "b" suffix are consistent with a 1942 byf.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
My guess is that you have a 1942 byf that has had it's center toggle link replaced with the Mauser link. The 135 stamps and the "b" suffix are consistent with a 1942 byf.

It seemed to me that the toggle link matched the serial of the pistol, and the bluing was consistent between the toggle, and the rest of the interior

·
Gold Bullet Member 2012
1,152 Posts
From what I can see it looks like you have a very nice looking Luger. But just because a numbered part matches it doesn't mean it was original. Here is a 42 byf with original parts and a 7 in the serial number. Compare the font of the 7 on the middle toggle on this gun to the 7 on yours. There appears to be a difference. Your Mauser stamp looks a little off center also.

Attachments

·
Administrator
13,370 Posts
I do not know for sure, and would look in Joop/Don's book to check their book on serial numbers for a banner Mauser. But a banner would be commercial, so numbers added after army procurement?

·
2,401 Posts