Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all Unique experts,

Although I have no knowledge in the field of gun nor pistol, I still registered on this forum. Why?
In November 2013, my father died, and I found this broken pistol in a old wine box (Bordeaux Saint Emilion 1985 !!!) hidden in the basement of the wine cellar.
According to my research on several sites, including this excellent forum, I found out, this pistol is a 7.65 MAPF Unique model 17. However, I am missing the date of manufacture which I estimate pre-war (thanks Dgiz and Yoebuff for your information work on serial numbers).

The history of this pistol is quite simple but long… so, sorry to impose this family story on you guys.

My father was born in 1925, he was 19 years old in 1944.
He lived in a small town in the center west of France, Saint Junien, in the Limousin region (called little Russia by the Germans because in active resistance since 1940).
During the morning of May 10, 1944, my father, a friend and my grandfather took the tram for Limoges but after 12 km, young soldiers of the SS division "Das Reich" stopped the tram in the countryside before the village of Oradour sur Glane. They check everyone's ID papers. My father and his friend are put aside on the tram track. The reason: they are old enough to go to the STO (Service du Travail Obligatoire - German Compulsory Labor Service).
My grandfather didn’t argue, he just mention “if they are on this tram it’s because they are going to Limoges requisitioned for loading military equipment at the train station, so please could you give me an official receipt explaining why you retaining then, and I could give back to the Limoges kommandantur explaining why they are not working for them !”... off course it wasn't true.