Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm definitely a new member. I've been handling guns my whole life. But I've never owned a vintage gun. I'm looking to get into a WWII Luger (or 2 haha). I am a fan of amazing machinery and the skill it takes to do it. And obviously the Luger design and execution fits the bill. I'm looking to get something in great shape that's collectible. Not really a shooter. So I'm going to be spending 1-3K most likely. I have been reading and studying for the last month or two.

My question is, since I'm new to the Luger world, what do you guys think the prices have been doing in the last year or so? Are we on an upswing? Just trying to get some insight as this is kind of an investment and and investment in History. I don't plan on selling it. I just have no idea about the market/Prices as I haven't been paying attention to it at all, till recently. I know some of you have been doing this a long time.

Thanks))

·
Premium Member
2,109 Posts
Hey Carl, welcome to the group.

I would encourage you to do a lot of reading, there are some good books by Jan Still and Gortz/Sturgess that can seem costly (hundreds of $), but can save you far more than that in the long run.

I don't know much about WWII Lugers, but will say that the Luger was in its heyday before and during WWI (manufactured by DWM), so don't neglect to investigate guns of that era. By WWII, it was still being manufactured by Mauser but was on its way out in favor of the P-38 IMHO. A Luger "in great shape" from any era is likely to cost you $2K and up, and you likely might not want to shoot it for fear of breaking matching parts, so don't neglect the opportunity to check out a shooter in the range of $800-$1K if you like to shoot.

·
Registered
5,677 Posts