Jan C. Still Lugerforums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On the reverse it is marked JBA over 1940. Below that is a symbol that has been X'd over. Below that is DDR NVD. Pictures are not to good. Thanks for any info. Bill

·
Administrator
15,525 Posts
sorry Bill, usually there are some guys who know these things... The DDR sounds more like the DDR for East Germany. Something about the holster doesn't look right to me, but I am no expert on these things...

Ed

·
Registered
542 Posts
William,
* The deafening silence, I presume, is due to no one having seen a PT.08 so marked in such condition. I've certainly not seen one like this; but, there is a lot I haven't seen as well.
* The "jba/1940" is the easy part. What follows is my synthesis of a report in John Walter's, The Luger Book, Pg. 140(J5), Pg.283(w3), & Pg.286(W36). The "jba" is a WWII manufacturer's code for A. Wunderlich Nachfolger, Berlin-Neukölln. This company is reported to have made Luger holsters in 1913-1918 and again in 1933-1943. The factory moved from S-W Berlin to the S-E Neukölln suburb in 1937. By 1941 operations were described as 'Fabrik fur Heeres, Polizei, und Feuerwehr-aüsrustungen (maker of equipment for Army, Police, and the fire service)'. The factory was located on Finowstrasse 27 in Neukölln.
* The "1940" would be a date of manufacturing. Since a 3 letter code is used & the "P.08" mark is present, the holster bears characteristics suggesting production after mid year 1940.
* The "X'd out" mark may be the Waffen Inspector's eagle over WaA18 (1936-37). No other WaA number is indicated for Wunderlich.